Day Trip to Filoli, Part 3 – The Pulgas Water Temple

Filoli closes at 3:30 and our dinner reservations were at 5:00, so with the extra time, we went just a couple of miles down the road to the Pulgas Water Temple.

IMG_0268copy

This was constructed in 1938 to celebrate the arrival of Hetch Hetchy water to San Francisco.  The water actually arrived on October 28, 1934.  The Hetch Hetchy Dam Project in Yosemite National Park was started in 1913 after the 1906 earthquake tragically demonstrated the inadequacy of the city’s water system.

IMG_0281copy

Because the dam and reservoir were to be built in a National Park, the Sierra Club was formed to protest this.  Many people still believe that the dam should be removed, the reservoir drained, and the Hetch Hetchy valley returned to its natural state.  However, it is acknowledged  it might be decades or even centuries before the valley could be returned to natural conditions, and re-opened to tourism and recreation.

IMG_0279copy

Meanwhile, San Francisco and Bay Area residents have some of the best drinking water in the country, and the water temple is a great place to relax on a nice afternoon.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Fun Times and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day Trip to Filoli, Part 3 – The Pulgas Water Temple

  1. Al Dubuc says:

    The temple has been a popular gathering spot for young and old alike…I would go there with high school friends in the 1960’s!

  2. Oh yeah, I heard about that…….

  3. Al Dubuc says:

    …where did you hear about it?

  4. ArtisticallyGeniusNails says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

