Chicken in Easy Mole Sauce

I occasionally get mole sauce in Mexican restaurants, when I’m feeling adventurous, and sometimes it’s good, and sometimes it’s not.  Sometimes it’s the same item in the same restaurant that’s good one time and not so much the next.  So when I saw this recipe in the newspaper I decided to try it.  This is the first time that I’ve made mole sauce at home, and it turned out fabulous!  It has a great flavor, and a really nice kick to it.  Al and I both loved it a lot, and he asked me to make it again, real soon.

Chicken in Easy Mole Sauce with Beans and Rice

Chicken in Easy Mole Sauce with Beans and Rice

1 large onion, finely chopped
6 cloves garlic, minced
2 or 3  chipotles in adobo, to taste, chopped
zest from 1 orange
juice from 1 orange, or 1/2 cup
1 (14 1/2 oz) can chicken broth
1 (14 1/2 oz) can chopped tomatoes
1/4 C peanut powder
2 T chili powder
1 T cumin
2 t coriander
1 t cinnamon
1 t salt
1/2 t pepper
1 lb chicken breast, cut into strips
2 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped
2 T lime juice
1 bunch cilantro, chopped

Lightly coat the bottom of a large pot with non-stick cooking spray, add onion and garlic and cook until onions are translucent, and the edges start to brown. Add remaining ingredients except chocolate, lime juice, and cilantro, stir to mix, and cook over low heat for an hour. Turn off heat, add chocolate, lime juice, and cilantro, stir gently until chocolate is melted and mixed in. Serve with rice and pinto beans.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

