Sausage and Fig Pizza with Garlic Sauce

I love pizza, I would eat it every day if I could, and I love to make pizza at home.  So I’m always on the lookout for good pizza recipes.  This one called for fresh figs, but they are in season only for a day or two, it seems!  So I used dried figs, and I also jazzed up the recipe a bit, I mean, I’m all  for healthy, gourmet pizza, but this is pizza, after all!  When I sent Al out for sausage, I thought that he would get bulk breakfast sausage, like Jimmy Dean, but he got pre-cooked maple syrup links.  They were good, but way too sweet for my taste.  But even with the sweet sausage, this was the best home-made pizza that I have made.

Sausage and Fig Pizza with Garlic Sauce

Sausage and Fig Pizza with Garlic Sauce

8 oz sausage, cooked and crumbled
8 oz figs, stemmed and sliced
1 red onion, cut into large dice
6 oz lo-fat mozzarella cheese, shredded
4 oz feta cheese, crumbled
1/2 recipe garlic sauce (below)
1 raw pizza crust

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.  Line a cookie sheet with foil and mist with non-stick cooking spray.  Spread onions on foil and bake for 20 minutes, cool.  Spread garlic sauce over pizza crust.  Layer on onions, sausage, figs, and cheeses.  Cook at 425 for 18 minutes, turning halfway through.

Sauce:
1 15 oz can chicken broth
1/4 c low-fat milk
2 t garlic powder
1 t dried thyme
3 T cornstarch
salt and pepper to taste
2 or 3 T crushed garlic

Heat broth, adding seasonings. Mix milk and cornstarch and add to broth, bring to a boil to allow to thicken considerably – stirring constantly to prevent lumps. Cool, stir in crushed garlic.  This does not freeze, unfortunately.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

