Spicy Chorizo and Tomato Soup with Extra for the Freezer

When I first saw this recipe in the newspaper, I thought “meh” and threw it away.  Then the more I thought about it, the more it appealed to me.  So I dug it out, read it again, and decided to try it.  And I’m glad I did!  This is one of the best soups that I have ever made.  I used chopped tomatoes with jalapeno, and it was very spicy, but with the sweet potato to off-set that, it was perfect.  Al bought pre-cooked chorizo, and it was good, but next time I’ll have him get the bulk sausage, instead.  And as usual, he wanted more meat in it, but he really liked it, anyway.  As with all soups, it tasted better warmed up the next day, and Al loved it so much that I never did get to freeze any of it.  This does make plenty, so there should be enough to freeze a couple of extra meals.

Spicy Chorizo, Tomato, and Cilantro Soup

Spicy Chorizo, Tomato, and Cilantro Soup

1 (16 oz) bag dry garbanzo beans
2 (48 1/2 oz) cans chicken broth
1 t garlic salt
2 red onions, diced
1 lb chorizo, chopped
6 carrots, shredded
2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
6 ribs celery, diced
3 (14 1/2 oz) cans diced tomatoes
1/2 to 1 t crushed red chilies, to taste
2 t cumin
1 t coriander
1 t turmeric
1 t black pepper
1 bunch cilantro, chopped
1/2 C lime juice

Sort through beans, throwing away any rocks or dirt, and rinse.  Put beans, 1 can of broth, 2 C water, and garlic salt in a large pot and bring to a boil.  Stir to mix, lower heat to simmer, cover, and cook for 2 hours, stirring occasionally until beans are cooked.  Add the other can of broth, the tomatoes, onions, chorizo, carrots, sweet potatoes, celery, and spices to the pot, and stir to mix thoroughly.  Bring back to a boil, lower heat to simmer, cover, and cook for another 2 hours, stirring occasionally.  Turn off heat, add cilantro and lime juice, and add salt if needed.

Cool overnight in the fridge, ladle soup into quart sized freezer bags, and freeze.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spicy Chorizo and Tomato Soup with Extra for the Freezer

  1. Al Dubuc says:

    Tastes great with a nice kick, night after night!

Leave a Reply

