Roasted Winter Vegetables and Chicken Salad

I love roasted vegetables, and I love the winter root vegetables roasted with spices.  I put a different spice on each one, and the flavors were wonderful!  Al even liked this a lot.  It’s nice to have a winter dinner salad that I can just pull out of the fridge, and not have to do anything else!  Although next time I think I’ll serve it on a bed of baby spinach.

Roasted Winter Vegetables and Chicken Salad

Roasted Winter Vegetables and Chicken Salad

2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
1 turnip, peeled and cubed
1 rutabaga, peeled and cubed
1 red onion, cut into large dice
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed
1 t cumin
1 t turmeric
1 t coriander
1 t paprika
1 t garlic salt
1 bunch red seedless grapes, cut in half
1 bunch green onions, sliced thinly including tops
1 1/2 C chopped pecans
2 – 4 T red wine vinegar

Line cookie sheets with foil, lightly coat with cooking spray, and pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.  Put cubed vegetables and chicken in a single layer on the cookie sheet and sprinkle each with a different spice, I used them in the order listed.  Roast for 1/2 hour.  You will need to do this in shifts.  Mix cooled veggies and chicken with rest of ingredients except vinegar.  Sprinkle with red wine vinegar to taste.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

