Sour Cream and Cranberry Snack Cake

I saw this recipe in our local newspaper in an article on how to use up Christmas leftovers.  Well, we never have cranberry sauce left over, Al loves it and always eats it up!  So I had to buy a can of whole berry cranberry sauce to make this – LOL!  This is a really easy cake to make, and I love the sour cream and cranberry flavors.

Sour Cream and Cranberry Snack Cake

Sour Cream and Cranberry Snack Cake

2 C flour
1 C sugar
1 1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1 t salt
3/4 C sour cream
1/2 C buttermilk
1 egg
2/3 C cranberry relish

Blend together dry ingredients in a large bowl. Break egg into a 2 c measuring cup and beat with a fork until lemony yellow, and blended. Add sour cream and buttermilk, and stir to mix. Add buttermilk mixture to dry ingredients and stir thoroughly to mix, about 2 minutes. Scrape dough into a 9 x 9 inch cake pan that has been coated with non-stick cooking spray.  Drop dollops of the cranberry sauce on the top, and use a knife to swirl it into the dough.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 35 to 40 minutes, or until done, cool.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sour Cream and Cranberry Snack Cake

  1. Looks yummy… I love baking too

Leave a Reply

