Easy Lower Fat Chicken Cacciatore

When Al goes to see his mother in Redwood City, he always stops at the deli that’s around the corner from her house to get a sandwich.  This is a great deli, it’s been there since the 1950s, and is still owned by the same Italian family.  They have all kinds of wonderful things there including lots of different kinds of pasta, and I asked him to pick up a package of something different.  He got Pasta al ceppo, which means “pasta rolled by a stick,” and it has the same size and shape of a cinnamon stick.

Pasta al Ceppo

Pasta al Ceppo

I decided to use this new kind of pasta with my easy lower fat chicken cacciatore.  I’ve had this recipe forever, and it makes a lot, which means that I can freeze some of it.  I love having some home-made delicious food in the freezer for the times that I just don’t feel like cooking.  I diced the chicken breasts this time, I think that smaller pieces of meat soak up the flavors in the sauce more.  This was delicious, and the pasta was fabulous!  I told Al to pick up a couple more packages next time he was at the deli.

Chicken Cacciatore

Chicken Cacciatore

10 – 12 chicken pieces with skin and fat removed
1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes with puree
1 (6 oz) can tomato paste
1 (13 1/2 oz) can chicken broth
3/4 C white wine
1 large onion, cut into 1 inch pieces
2 large bell peppers, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 lb mushrooms, sliced
4 – 6 cloves garlic, crushed (to taste)
2 T oregano
1 t basil
1 t marjoram
1 t thyme
1/4 t crushed red peppers
1 t salt

Put all ingredients into a large pot and stir to mix.  Bring to a boil and then lower heat to simmer.  Cover and cook for 2 – 3 hours, stirring every 15 – 20 minutes.  Serve over pasta.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy Lower Fat Chicken Cacciatore

  1. Al Dubuc says:

    Awesome pictures! Captured the meal and the unique pasta!

Leave a Reply

