Peanut Butter Banana Snack Cake

Al always wants dessert that’s not fruit.  I don’t like to eat too many sweets that don’t have at least some redeeming qualities – lol!  So I made up this peanut butter banana snack cake to please both of us.  I like to use up my over-ripe bananas instead of throwing them away, this time they were extremely ripe!  And sometimes I can find peanut powder at Trader Joe’s, called peanut flour.  When they don’t have it I buy it over the internet from the PB2 store in Tifton, Georgia.

Peanut Butter Banana Snack Cake

Peanut Butter Banana Snack Cake

Cake:
1 1/2 c flour
1/2 c white whole wheat flour
1 c sugar
1/2 c peanut powder
3 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
1 t cinnamon
2 over-ripe bananas
1 egg
1 1/2 c buttermilk
1 t vanilla

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Blend together dry ingredients in a large bowl. Mash bananas in a 4 c measuring cup, add egg and beat with a fork until blended. Add buttermilk and vanilla, and stir to mix. Add buttermilk mixture to dry ingredients and stir thoroughly to mix, about 2 minutes. Scrape dough into a 13 x 9 inch cake pan that has been coated with non-stick cooking spray.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 35 to 40 minutes, or until done, cool.

Frosting:
1 c powdered sugar
1 t vanilla
2 or 3 t non-fat milk
1/4 c chopped peanuts

Put powdered sugar and vanilla in a small bowl and mix together.  Add milk by teaspoons to desired consistency.  Smooth a thin layer of frosting over cake and sprinkle with chopped peanuts.  Press nuts gently into frosting.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

