Garbanzo Chicken Stew

When I was working at the University and Al was home, running his business out of our house, he cooked supper every night.  This was great, I didn’t have to cook when I got home, and Al got some cooking experience.  He really doesn’t like to cook at all, so I was very grateful that he did it for me, and we found a lot of easy recipes for him to make.  This is one of them, and when he made it he used a couple of cans of garbanzo beans – easy peasy!  But this time I wanted to try it with dry beans, instead, and it turned out great!  The garbanzo beans have a marvelous flavor, much better than the canned.  And instead of cooking sherry, I use Gallo Cocktail Dry Sherry, it’s a lot cheaper and better tasting (imho) than cooking sherry and doesn’t have the added salt.

Garbanzo Chicken Stew

Garbanzo Chicken Stew

1 lb dry garbanzo beans
1 (49 1/2 oz) can chicken broth
2 C water
1 t garlic salt
12 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 onions, chopped
8 cloves garlic, crushed
1 1/2 C cooking sherry

Sort and rinse beans, put in large pot with chicken broth, garlic salt, and 2 C water. Bring to a boil, stir, and reduce heat to simmer. Cook about 2 hours or until beans are soft. Add remaining ingredients, stir to mix, bring to a boil, then lower heat to simmer. Cover and cook for 1 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally. Serve with cornbread.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

