Yea! Another New Melon – Israeli Melon

Every time that we go to our local fruit stand, I look for new types of melons to try. This time when we were there I found a box of melons that I had never seen before. They were unlabeled and unidentified, so I selected one, and asked the check-out lady what it was. She said that it was an Israeli Melon, and when I got home I googled it.

Israeli Melon

Israeli Melon

It is also known as a Ogen melon, named after the kibbutz in Israel where it was popularised over 50 years ago. The original seeds most likely came from Hungary before WWII. This melon is too delicate to be picked by machine, and it doesn’t travel well, so isn’t sold in grocery stores.

Israeli Melon Cut Open

Israeli Melon Cut Open

It was very juicy and had a very strong sweet melon aroma. The seeds were very easy to remove, and it had a sweet and mild melon flavor. Al and I both liked this one a lot.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yea! Another New Melon – Israeli Melon

  1. Al Dubuc says:

    Sweet flavor, and I love the research into the background and origins of this melon!!

Leave a Reply

