Drinking a Blackberry Shrub

I saw something about this on one of my favorite blogs and I wanted to try it.   And this summer we have a wild blackberry bush growing up inside one of our landscaping bushes, and since we didn’t get it out before it bloomed, I decided that we were going to take advantage of it, and I was going to pick the berries every day.  So we’ve been eating blackberries like crazy, and I have been freezing the extras.  And we have been drinking Blackberry Shrubs every day this hot summer!  It has a strong sweet-tart blackberry taste, and it’s very refreshing on a hot hot day.  Shrubs can be made from almost anything so I’m going to try peaches next.  I’m sorry I didn’t think about this during strawberry and cherry seasons earlier this spring.

Blackberry Shrub

Blackberry Shrub

1 C crushed blackberries
1 C sugar
1 C apple cider vinegar

Mix together blackberries and sugar and store in refrigerator for up to a week, stirring every day to dissolve sugar.  Strain blackberry/sugar mixture and add vinegar.  Stir to make sure that the sugar is dissolved, and store in refrigerator for a couple of weeks.

To drink,  put about 1/4 to 1/3 inch of the shrub (to taste – it’s pretty intense) in the bottom of a tall glass.  Add club soda and ice, stir to mix and enjoy!  This made enough for 18 tall glasses.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drinking a Blackberry Shrub

  1. Al Dubuc says:

    This is an amazingly cool and refreshing summer COOL-DOWN awesome afternoon drink!! 🙂

  2. Looks and sounds refreshing! I’d add a little vodka to mine for a happy hour drink. 🙂

Leave a Reply

