Bright Flowers and Stripes on my Fingernails

I really like the bright colors from this summer’s OPI Brazil collection and I keep thinking of more ways to use them in my manis.  I felt like doing some stripes this time, and I added a big white flower on my accent nails.  I painted my thumb, pointer, and pinky nails with OPI Where Did Suzi’s Man-Go? and then I added stripes with It’s So Easy Stripe Rite in White.  Then I painted my middle and ring fingernails with OPI Live.Love.Carnival and, using the brush in the bottle, painted a big flower on them with Orly White Tips.  Then I put a dot of OPI I Just Can’t Cope-Acabana in the center of each one.

Thumb, Pointer, and Pinky - Base - OPI Where Did Suzi's Man-Go?  Stripes - It's So Easy Stripe Rite in White Middle and Ring - Base - OPI Live.Love.Carnival Flower - Orly White Tips, Center - OPI I Just Can't Cope-Acabana

Thumb, Pointer, and Pinky – Base – OPI Where Did Suzi’s Man-Go? Stripes – It’s So Easy Stripe Rite in White
Middle and Ring – Base – OPI Live.Love.Carnival Flower – Orly White Tips, Center – OPI I Just Can’t Cope-Acabana

I have been seeing a lot of “distressed” nails on the internet this spring, and I decided to try out the look.  So when I started to get some small chips and tip wear, I used my old bottle of  Nicole by OPI Black Texture to add the distressed look.  I wiped most of the polish off of the brush before I gently swiped it several times on my nails.  The texture polish really added to the distressed look, and I was happy to find a use for an old polish that I really didn’t like or use very much.  I actually really like this look, and Al liked it a lot, too!  And it’s a great way to get a couple more days out of a manicure.

Distressed with Nicole by OPI Black Texture

Distressed with Nicole by OPI Black Texture

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bright Flowers and Stripes on my Fingernails

  1. Mathurini says:

    I really like these, and love OPI too! I’m trying to grow my nails out so I’m documenting my journey if you’d like to take a peak! It’s great to get some encouragement from those who are already there! http://mathurini.wordpress.com/2014/05/20/the-nail-project/

Leave a Reply

