Shells with Andouille, Kale, and Basil with Orange-Garlic Sauce

Our newspaper had a bunch of pasta recipes with veggies in them, so I took what I liked best from them, and ended up with this great tasting dish!  I sent Al to the store for kale, and he bought a bag of mixed baby kale, arugula, and spinach, but when he got it home, and I looked at it, it just didn’t look like enough, so  I sent him back for another package this time just baby kale.  This was the right amount of greens, and Al asked next time for one package of kale and one package of spinach, so that’s what I’ll do.  Also next time, I think that I will add to the orange juice to make 2 cups, to give it just a little more of the sweet orange flavor, and a little more sauce.  And maybe a little sprinkle of crushed red chilies to add a little more kick to it.  The andouille was good, but not quite hot enough.

Shells with andouille, kale, and basil with orange-garlic sauce

Shells with andouille, kale, and basil with orange-garlic sauce

1 lb large shells, cooked according to package directions
12 oz pkg pre-cooked chicken andouille sausage, sliced
3 – 4 shallots, chopped
3 -4 cloves garlic, mashed
juice and zest from 1 orange
2 (5 oz) pkg baby kale (or whatever you like)
1 large bunch basil, chopped

Spray the bottom of a large pot with cooking spray and cook shallots and garlic until the shallots start to soften.  Add the greens, stir, and cook until they start to become limp.  Add the cooked shells, sausage, and basil, and stir to mix.  Add the orange zest and juice, mix well, and heat just until hot enough, do not boil.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shells with Andouille, Kale, and Basil with Orange-Garlic Sauce

  1. alifemoment says:

    Really nice recipe and delicious sauce! 🙂

  2. Thank you so much, I really like the sweet orange taste with the kale.

Leave a Reply

