Road Trip to Daffodil Hill

Daffodil Hill is on a ranch in the Sierra Nevada foothills in Amador county about 50 miles east of Sacramento, and about 80 miles north of our house.  The family that owns the ranch has planted more than 300,000 daffodil bulbs around the old homestead and opens the ranch for visitors every spring to view the flowers.  We went up to see the daffodils last week, and it was a good thing that we did since it was open only 12 days this year because just a couple of days ago they had a severe hail storm that ruined all the flowers.

IMG_1794

The ranch was built in the 1850’s right after the gold rush and the original owner was from Holland.  He planted daffodil bulbs around his house to remind him of his homeland.

IMG_1803

When the current owner’s grandparents bought the ranch, they liked the daffodils so much that they continued planting more bulbs every year.

IMG_1806

After their deaths, their children and grandchildren kept up the tradition of planting daffodil bulbs, and started opening the ranch in the spring for visitors to see the flowers.

IMG_1812

Daffodils aren’t the only colorful things you can see there.  Here are two of the dozen or so peacocks that live on the ranch.

IMG_1800

The family plants about 16,000 new bulbs every year of many different varieties.

IMG_1816

They also had a lot of tubs of other spring flowers, here are some beautiful red tulips.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Fun Times and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Road Trip to Daffodil Hill

  1. Gorgeous flowers and gorgeous peacocks! I love all of the mix of colors. Looks fun!

  2. Thanks, the flowers were fabulous, I’m so glad we got to see them this year.

Leave a Reply

