Pork and Butternut Squash Stew with Stout

I saw this recipe in our local newspaper, took one look, and tossed it.  Then, after thinking about it some more, I dug it out of the recycle pile, and I’m glad I did!  I used a 12 oz bottle of Guinness Stout, and dark molasses, and the flavor is deep and complex, with a vaguely sweet undertone that is perfect with the beans and squash.  And it’s even better after it sits overnight.  Al and I both thought it was delicious, and I am definitely making it again.

Pork and Butternut Squash Stew with Stout

Pork and Butternut Squash Stew with Stout

1 lb dry small white beans
1 (49 1/2 oz) can chicken broth
1 t salt
1 1/2 lb pork roast, cut into small cubes
2 onions, chopped
1 medium butternut squash, peeled and cubed
1 bottle stout
1/2 c molasses
1 t ground cloves
1 t salt

Sort and rinse beans, add to chicken broth, salt, and 2 c water in a large pot, and bring to a boil.  Turn heat down to simmer, and cook for about 2 hours, or until beans are cooked and soft.  Add remaining ingredients except squash, mix well, and simmer for another 2 hours.  Add squash, mix in, and simmer for another hour.  Enjoy!

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

