Road Trip to Sebastopol – Part II

While we were walking around The Barrow and checking out all the shops that were there, Al spotted a sign that said “Gin Distillery” with an arrow pointing down an alley.  He loves gin, and so down the alley we went, and at the very end of the alley and on the back edge of the complex we found the Spirit Works Distillery.  This great piece of artwork was in front.

Spirit

At the Spirit Works Distillery

So we went in, and the back of the shop was a huge window that looked into the actual distillery.  Right in front was the huge 2-story tall copper still with lots of tubes coming out of it.  There were shelves along the sides full of stuff, and there were a bunch of people working back there.  We found out that they make vodka, gin, and sloe gin there.  In the shop there was a display of the grain and the different herbs and spices used to make the different types of spirits, and a really nice girl asked us if we wanted to taste them.

Tasting the Spirits

Tasting the Spirits

Of course we said that we did!  She started with the vodka since this is what they make first.  It had a nice but faint wheat-like taste to it, and Al really liked it a lot.  She said that next they add the herbs and spices to the vodka to make the gin.  Now, I really don’t like gin at all – I never drink it, but this gin was really really good.  I liked it even better than Al!  The last one we tasted was the sloe gin, they make this by adding the sloe berries and other spices to the gin.  It was really good, too, and tasted nothing like the sloe gin that I drank when I was a teenager.

A wall of Gin and Vodka!

A wall of Gin and Vodka!

We didn’t buy any then, but we have decided to go back to Sebastopol in the summer when the weather is nice, and buy a bottle.  We just can’t decide on whether we want to get gin or vodka.  Al says either way – we will just drink it anyway!

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Fun Times and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

