Road Trip to Sebastopol – Part I

We took a day trip to Sebastopol last week because I had seen an article about The Barlow, a refurbished factory area that is home to breweries, art galleries, and restaurants.  We thought that it would be fun to drive up there and check it all out.  We went the back way, up to Lodi, and then west.  By the time that we got there, it was after noon, and we were starved, so we headed straight to Zazu Kitchen and Farm Restaurant.

Zazu Kitchen and Farm Restaurant

Zazu Kitchen and Farm Restaurant

We would have liked to sit outside, it looked so nice, but unfortunately we were there on the coldest day of the year, so we went in.  The restaurant was busy, and a nice waitress seated us at our table and told us that we absolutely had to have the bacon wrapped dates for our appetizer, so we did!  They were great, we each had one, and they tasted so good.  They were so rich, I don’t think that I could eat more than just one.

Bacon wrapped Dates

Bacon wrapped Dates

And then for lunch, Al had a huge bowl of muscles that he said was great, and I had a pepperocini, ham, and pork sandwich with a mustard potato salad that was delicious.  It, too, was so rich that I could only eat half, and I took the other  half home and ate it for dinner.  After we ate, we went out to check out the rest of the place.  Just across the street there were a line of large bronze sculptures sitting in front of a building.

The Sculpture Factory

The Sculpture Factory

It was the Bronze Plus Art Foundry, a place where artists can have their sculptures casted.  We peeked inside, and there were huge machines, and people with protective gear running them, and it was loud, and it looked wonderful!  I want to check to see if they give tours, I think that would be very interesting and something that I know absolutely nothing about!  I love learning about new things.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Fun Times and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Road Trip to Sebastopol – Part I

  1. Al Dubuc says:

    Beautiful weather! Great day trip…and excellent food! 🙂

Leave a Reply

