Cassoulet Stew

I love cassoulet,  and every time that I eat in a real French restaurant, that’s what I always get.  A while back, we went to a friend’s place for a dinner party, and he served cassoulet, which was delicious.  This was the first time that I had home-made cassoulet, but he told us that it took him 2 days to make it!  After this, I decided that I needed a simpler and easier recipe for cassoulet so I could make it at home. I looked all over for one, but couldn’t find anything.  So I just made this one up!  It is easy and it tastes wonderful, it’s rich and tastes almost exactly like the cassoulet that I love.  To lower the fat and calories, I substituted turkey breast for the duck, and turkey sausage for the pork.  And if you can find a lamb roast, it’s a lot cheaper than getting lamb chops.

Cassoulet Stew

Cassoulet Stew

1 (16 oz) dry small white beans
1 onion, chopped
3 carrots, sliced
1 red bell pepper, chopped
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 (14 1/2 oz) can chopped tomatoes
1 (14 1/2 oz) can chicken broth
1 C dry red wine
1 t salt
1 t thyme
1 bay leaf
1/4 t fresh ground black pepper
1/4 t crushed red chilies
1/2 lb turkey breast, cut into 1 inch pieces
1/2 lb turkey sausage, sliced
1/2 lb lamb roast, cut into 1 inch pieces

Rinse beans and remove dirt and other debris, place in a large pot, cover with 8 C water and bring to a boil.  Turn heat down to simmer, stir, and cook for about 2 hours, or until soft.  Add rest of ingredients, stir to mix, and cook on low for about 2 more hours.

 

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

