Easy and Delicious Appetizers for Thanksgiving

Every year for the past almost 30 years, Al and I have gone to Thanksgiving Dinner at our friend’s house in San Francisco.  Everyone brings a side dish, and the hosts make the turkey and stuffing.  Since we live so far away, we usually get there early so I have been bringing an appetizer.  I alternate every year, just to keep everyone on their toes, and this year Al wanted me to make this Cranberry Chutney and cheese spread.  I discovered this recipe by accident one year, and it has been an all-time favorite ever since.

It’s hard to find cranberry chutney at the store, it seems like it’s only there around Thanksgiving, so Al was pretty happy when he chanced upon some at the store a couple of weeks ago.  This was the first time in years that he found some, so when he brought it home, he wanted to make the appetizer and not wait – so we did!  When we can’t find the cranberry chutney, we use other flavor chutney or salsa.  That’s what I like about this appetizer, you can use almost anything to make it, and it always tastes wonderful!  I used Pepper Jack cheese this year for the first time and it was great!

Cranberry Chutney and Pepper Jack cheese on crackers

Cranberry Chutney and Pepper Jack cheese on crackers

10 – 12 oz jar chutney, salsa, or similar condiment
1 lb cheese of your choice
crackers

Grate cheese into a bowl, add chutney and mix together.  Serve on crackers.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy and Delicious Appetizers for Thanksgiving

  1. Oh, they look so yummy! Thank you for sharing this recipe! ❤

    I have a new video up on my blog now, I hope you like it! 😉
    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com
    New Video: 7 Ways to Layer Your Clothes Like A New Yorker

Leave a Reply

