Lower Fat Hamburger Stroganoff

I used to make this all the time, and then for some reason, I forgot all about it.  Then last week we saw someone on TV eating stroganoff, and Al asked me, “Why don’t you ever make that anymore?”  So I made it again, and it’s as good as ever.   Al especially likes that there is plenty of meat in it, and not very many vegetables – lol!

Hamburger Stroganoff

1 lb extra lean ground beef
4 – 6 gloves garlic, minced
1 onion, diced
1 lb mushrooms, sliced
2 T flour
1 (14 1/2 oz) can beef broth
1 (16 oz) carton non-fat sour cream
salt and pepper to taste
1 pkg noodles, cooked according to package directions

In a large skillet or wok, cook ground beef and garlic until beef is no longer pink.  Add onion, stir to mix, and cook for 1 – 2 minutes.  Add mushrooms, mix in, and cook for an additional 5 or 6 minutes, or until mushrooms are cooked.  Mix together beef broth and flour, add to beef mixture, and bring to a boil, stirring constantly.  Turn off heat and mix in the sour cream, stirring until smooth.  Serve over noodles.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lower Fat Hamburger Stroganoff

  1. This looks amazing!! Thank you for sharing!! 🙂

    Diana
    http://www.ManhattanImageandStyle.com
    New Blog Post: 10 Habits That Will Help You Succeed

Leave a Reply

