Spicy Peanut Chicken

Here is another recipe that I found in my old, forgotten cook book.  I modified it a little, of course, mainly substituting peanut powder for peanut butter.  And I also pretty much doubled the amounts of vegetables.  This came out really good and it tastes Wonderful!  I love the taste of coconut milk and the curry paste  and the peanut powder all blend together to make a really delicious taste!   Al really liked it a lot, the only complaint that he had was that it needed salt, so I think that next time I will add a teaspoon of salt, I’ve already added it to the recipe.  This does make a HUGE amount, we ate it forever (thank goodness it tastes great!) but I think that next time I will freeze some of it.

Spicy Peanut Chicken

Spicy Peanut Chicken

2 onions, diced
5 carrots, cut in matchsticks
6 stalks celery, diced
6 cloves garlic, minced
2 T ginger root, minced
1 t salt
1 t black pepper
1 (49.5 oz) can chicken broth
6 large skinless boneless chicken breasts, cut in half
1 (16 oz) pkg frozen petit peas
2 red bell peppers, diced
4 T peanut powder
4 T lemon juice
4 T soy sauce
2 T Thai red curry paste
1 (13.5 oz) can coconut milk
1 bunch cilantro, chopped

Coat the bottom of a large pot with cooking spray, and cook the onions, carrots, and celery until they start to soften, about 5 or 6 minutes.  Add garlic, ginger, salt, black pepper, chicken broth, and chicken breasts, stir well, and cook over low heat for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.  Add peas and red bell pepper, and mix in.  In a bowl, mix together the peanut powder, lemon juice, soy sauce, red curry paste, and the coconut milk and add to cooking pot, cook for about 1/2 hour more or until red peppers start to soften.  Add cilantro, mix well, and serve over rice.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spicy Peanut Chicken

  1. This sounds and looks delicious! I love anything that makes a large amount, as dinner is set for the rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

