Thai Style Corn Salad

I am always on the lookout for salad recipes that are really different, and when I saw this recipe in the newspaper a few weeks ago, I knew that I had to try it.  It was in an article about fresh summer corn-on-the-cob, but I used frozen corn instead.  I have to eat my fresh summer corn ‘On-The-Cob’, I can’t eat it any other way.  I love Thai food, so I was excited to try this, and it turned out to be really delicious, and tastes like nothing I have ever eaten before.  I love to find new flavor combinations.  The coconut milk, fish sauce, and mint in the dressing blend together to make a great, delicious, and unusual taste, and Al actually really liked it a lot!

Thai Style Corn Salad

Thai Style Corn Salad

Dressing:
1 (13.5 oz) can coconut milk
4 T lime juice
zest from 1 lime
1 – 2 T fish sauce, to taste
1/4 t cayenne pepper, to taste

Salad:
4 C cooked corn, cooled
2 carrots, cut  into matchsticks
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 bunch fresh mint, chopped

mixed greens

Put vegetables in a large bowl and toss.  Mix dressing ingredients together in a small bowl, pour over veggies, and stir to mix.  Refrigerate several hours to blend flavors.  Serve over mixed greens – I used butter lettuce, baby spinach, and baby kale.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

