Delicious with some Extra for the Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

One of my favorite bloggers, Keep It Up, David had this recipe on his blog a while back, and it looked so good that I thought that I would make it.  It is his cousin’s recipe, and she had already changed almost everything that I would have,  she increased the veggies a lot, and doubled (or more) the amount of herbs and spices.  I only changed a couple of things, I substituted ground turkey for half the beef and used fresh mushrooms, and it turned out wonderful!  I love that it has so many fresh vegetables in it, even though it means lots and lots of chopping.  It does make a HUGE amount, I had to dig out my extra-large pasta pot for this, and I ended up with 8 quart-sized freezer bags of sauce.  I love to have something in my freezer that is fast and easy and healthy for the days that I just don’t have the energy, brain power or even ingredients in the house for dinner.

David's cousin Macrae's Spaghetti Sauce with Penne

David’s cousin Macrae’s Spaghetti Sauce with Penne

1 pound lean ground beef
1 pound ground turkey
4 green bell peppers, chopped
2 red bell peppers, chopped
8 carrots, diced
8 stalks celery, chopped
2 pounds mushrooms, sliced
2 onions, chopped
3 tablespoon minced garlic
1 (15 ounce) can tomato sauce
2 (14.5 ounce) cans diced tomatoes
2 (6 ounce) cans tomato paste
1 can beef broth
6 bay leaves
2 tablespoons dried thyme
3 tablespoons dried oregano
3 teaspoons dried basil
2 teaspoons black pepper
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1 tablespoon white sugar

In a huge pasta pot cook the ground meat until it is no longer pink.  Add the green bell pepper, red bell pepper, garlic, onion, carrots, celery, and mushrooms and cook 5 to 10 minutes or until vegetables start to soften.  Add the tomato sauce, tomatoes, tomato paste, bay leaves, thyme, oregano, basil, crushed red pepper, black pepper, sugar, and beef broth and stir well.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and cover.  Simmer for 2 hours.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

