The Best Restaurant Breads in the Valley – Fifth Place

I love bread, and I really really love fresh bread, and I love best of all bread that’s hot out of the oven, and that has herbs and stuff in it so that it tastes different from normal, regular bread.  So when Al and I go out to eat, I always try a piece of the bread that they always have.  Most of the places that we eat actually have good enough bread, usually sliced baguettes or sour dough.  But – it’s not “fresh out of the oven” and it’s usually good, but normal bread.  Occasionally, we go to a place that has stale hard bread, and we don’t go there again unless they have really really good food.  We actually do have a couple of these, but we don’t eat the bread when we go there.  There are 4 or 5 places in the valley that have really exceptional bread.  I say 4 or 5 because the last 2 on my list are really inconsistent.  Sometimes the bread is fresh and tasty and perfect, and other times it’s just normal slices of bread, or worse, stale and hard.  But I include them because sometimes we get lucky and have really good bread, and it’s worth it.

Fifth Place – Bistro 234 in Turlock
We went there for lunch a while back, and they had hot out of the oven herbed panini, and it was wonderful.  Then this time that we ate there, so that I could take pictures, unfortunately, they didn’t have the good bread, and the two different types that they served were both kinda meh.  The one in the back of the plate was better than the one in front, both were fresh enough, but not exceptional.  However, the food is fabulous, especially the gnocchi, I had the special gnocchi, and it was really worth it.  But Bistro 234 is very expensive, and it’s the farthest away from our house, so we don’t go there very often.

The bread at Bistro 234 in Turlock

The bread at Bistro 234 in Turlock

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Fun Times and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

