Chicken Rotelle Tetrazzini

I found this recipe while I was cleaning out a stack of old stuff that I had in the back of my closet.  I don’t remember making it, but I must have because it was in a “this was a good recipe” stack.  So I decided to try it again, and now I know why I saved it – it’s really good, and Al really liked it a lot.  I also know why it was in an old, forgotten place, it’s a lot of work to make, and it makes a lot of dirty dishes!  But it has a great flavor that is unlike anything else that I make, and I will definitely make it again, just  as soon as I feel like washing a lot of dishes again – lol!!

Chicken Rotelle Tetrazzini

Chicken Rotelle Tetrazzini

16 oz Rotelle, cooked according to package directions
1 lb chicken breasts, cooked and cubed
2 (14 1/2 oz) cans chicken broth
1 lb fresh mushrooms, sliced
12 T flour
1 C non-fat milk
4 eggs
1/2 C dry white wine
1/2 C pimento, chopped
1/4 C fresh parsley, chopped
salt and pepper to taste

Put cubed chicken, rotelle, pimento, and parsley in a very large mixing bowl.  Place sliced mushrooms in a large skillet with a lid and cook, covered, stirring occasionally, until cooked  Add to chicken in mixing bowl.  Mix chicken broth with flour until smooth.  Place in skillet with milk and cook, stirring constantly until mixture begins to boil.  Remove from heat.  Crack eggs into a medium-sized mixing bowl and beat well.  Add a small amount of cooked sauce to the eggs, blend well.  Repeat 4 – 5 times, blending well each time.  Return egg mixture to skillet, add wine, stir, and heat, making sure that the mixture does not boil.  Add sauce to chicken and mushrooms mixture and mix well, add salt and pepper if desired.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

