Road Trip to SF – Part 2: Visiting Al’s Dad

After we left the AIDS Memorial Grove, we walked around Golden Gate Park for a while until we found a restroom next to the San Francisco Lawn Bowlers Club.  They had a really nice pitch next to the clubhouse, and it would have been nice to watch a game, but I guess that they were all at work on a Tuesday.  We went back to the car and headed south out of the city since our dinner reservations were in Redwood City.  As we drove, we started looking for a Starbucks so that we could get a snack to hold us over until dinner.  But, much to our surprise, there were no Starbucks at all!  We drove for half an hour, and didn’t see a one.  Eventually, when we were stopped at a red light, we saw a frozen yogurt store in a strip mall, so we stopped there and each got a cone.  Of course, after that, we saw a Starbucks on pretty much every corner.

The View from the Overlook

The View from the Overlook

Then we stopped at Golden Gate National Cemetery in San Bruno to see Al’s dad.  The cemetery is huge, it goes on for blocks and blocks.  All the graves are in the order that they died, and some have their wife or a child buried with them.  When Al’s mom goes, she will rest there with him.  Al’s dad’s grave is fairly close to the entrance, and is in the older part.  It was very peaceful, we were the only people there.

Al and His Dad

Al and His Dad

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Fun Times and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

