Lower Fat Saag Murghi – Indian Style Spinach Chicken

I love Indian food, and when we go out, I always order Saag Gosht which is lamb with spinach.  It is my absolute favorite, and I wanted to try making it at home.  I found a recipe for Saag Gosht and started trying it out.  The first thing that I did was substitute chicken for the lamb, which is cheaper and lower in fat.  Then, over time, I made other adjustments to lower the fat and make it more “me-friendly.”  This is the version that I have been using for a while, although sometimes I use turkey instead of chicken and I usually always double the recipe.  Choose your chilies carefully, this time Al bought jalapenos and they were super hot!  I liked it, but it was too hot for him.

Spinach Chicken

Spinach Chicken

1 lb skinless and boneless chicken breasts, cubed
2 onions, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
2″ piece of ginger root, peeled and chopped fine
4 – 6 chilies, seeded and diced
1 (14 oz) can chopped tomatoes
1 (8 oz) carton plain yogurt
1 1/2 t ground cumin
1 T ground coriander
1/2 t turmeric
1/2 t cinnamon
1/2 t cardamom
1/8 t cloves
3 bay leaves
1 t salt – or to taste
2 C boiling water
2 boxes frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
2 t garam masala – see below

Coat the bottom of a large soup pot with non-stick cooking spray.  Cook chicken, stirring frequently until it is just done.  Add onions, cook and stir until they start to turn clear, and the edges start to brown.  Add garlic, ginger, and chilies and cook about two minutes longer.  Add remaining ingredients except spinach and garam masala, stir to mix, and cook over low heat for 2 – 2 1/2 hours, stirring occasionally.  Make sure that the mixture bubbles gently, do not boil.  Add spinach and garam masala to pot and cook about 5 minutes more.  Serve over rice.  This tastes even better the next day.

Garam Masala
1 t ground cloves
1 T ground cardamom
1 T ground cinnamon
1 T ground coriander
1 T ground black pepper
2 T ground cumin

Place all spices in a heavy frying pan over medium heat and stir constantly.  When the spices start to smoke and smell good watch carefully, stirring constantly until they are dark brown but not burnt.  Immediately place in a clean dry bowl to cool.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

