Sweet and Sour Chicken and Pineapple

I found this recipe when I was browsing the internet, and it turned out to be really good.  Of course, I tweaked it a little, by adding more vegetables.  I made it with green bell peppers, but I think that next time I will use the red ones for more color.  I make my cooked rice in a rice cooker, with 1 part brown rice to 4 parts white rice, since Al won’t eat brown rice by itself, and I’m trying to get us to eat more non-processed food whenever possible.  Al did really like this and asked me to make it again!

Sween and Sour Chicken with Pineapple on Rice

Sweet and Sour Chicken with Pineapple on Rice

1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into cubes
1 (20 oz) can pineapple chunks in juice
2 bell peppers, diced
1 bunch green onions, sliced, both white and green
1/4 C soy sauce
1/2 C seasoned rice vinegar
1/4 C brown sugar
1/4 C flour

Put flour and brown sugar into a bowl and mix together thoroughly.  Add the soy sauce and vinegar, and drain the pineapple juice into the bowl, reserving the pineapple chunks and mix together.

In a large skillet or wok coated with non-stick cooking spray, cook and stir chicken until done.  Add onions and bell peppers, and stir until hot.  Add reserved pineapple and sauce and bring to a boil.  Serve on cooked rice.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sweet and Sour Chicken and Pineapple

  1. This looks really good – and kinda easy (which is a MUST in my kitchen!).

Leave a comment