Christmas Soup – Revised, Now Even Better!

I Love this soup, I love potatoes and anything that is made with them.  Al, on the other hand, not so much.  When I would make this soup, he would remark that it was bland and tasteless.  I would say, “But the potatoes taste so good!” and he would say that the potatoes didn’t taste at all.  He also didn’t like the kielbasa, and said that it also was bland.  But I really like this soup, and it’s easy to make, and it cooks all day in the crock pot.  So this time when I made it, I got smoked, zesty Italian sausage, and I noticed that I had a couple of sweet potatoes that I had intended to make into oven fries.  So I substituted the sweet potatoes for part of the potatoes, and it turned out great!  I also didn’t soak the beans this time, since I have discovered that I don’t need to.  The sausage had some good kick to it, which went really well with the sweet potatoes – and Al liked it!!!

Christmas Soup made with Sweet Potatoes

Christmas Soup made with Sweet Potatoes

Ingredients:
1 pound spicy sausage, sliced 1/4-inch thick
8 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound red kidney beans, sorted
2 quarts chicken broth (enough to cover)
3 pounds potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 teaspoon salt or to taste
One package baby spinach
1/2 cup red wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Place first 7 ingredients in crock pot and cook for 8 to 10 hours.  Add the spinach to the pot, and mix in thoroughly.  Add the red wine vinegar and black pepper and stir to combine.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Christmas Soup – Revised, Now Even Better!

  1. This soup sounds so unique and delicious! I love anything made from potatoes, too!

Leave a Reply

