Reach Out and Touch Someone

Kerri and Seven are always here every day sleeping in the cubby-holes of my desk.  Sometimes Kerri gets the primo top cube, and sometimes Seven gets there first.  Seven is one of the original 7 kittens that were born almost 17 years ago in May, 1996.  We had befriended a feral cat that lived in our back pasture, and we named her Holstein, since she was black and white, and at that time, we had a herd of black and white holstein milk cows in the pasture.  She was the first cat that Al had ever gotten close to, and he just fell in love with her – and her two kittens that she brought out of the pasture to us.  Well, these cats were wild, and the kittens were young, and the road we live on has big fast trucks going on it, so the inevitable happened, and we lost the two baby kittens.  Al was devastated.

It was summer, and our neighbor’s two children were selling garden vegetables in their front yard, and Al would stop when they were out and buy veggies from them.  One day he came home with a bag of veggies, and two baby kittens.  The girls had talked him into taking a couple of their kittens!  We named them Greystoke and Kitty Carlyle.  Greystoke fell victim to the trucks, but Kitty Carlyle stayed alive, and got pregnant.  We were so excited and when the kittens were born, she had seven!  We named them in the order that they were born, and when we came to the last one, we just couldn’t think of a good name.  We had already named the other orange and white cat Sherbert, and nothing else came to mind, so we just called her Seven.

My mother and my Aunt Betty came over to visit us a week or so later.  My mother (and my aunt) are one of seven sisters, and when we told them that we had named the last kitten “Seven” my Aunt Betty (the seventh and youngest sister) just went nuts!  She was all, “You can’t call that poor cat Seven!  You have to give her a real name!”  and so on and on and on…….   So I told her that I would change the cat’s name to Betty, but she didn’t like that any better, so Seven has been Seven all of her life.  And the seven little kittens (and all the rest of the cats that we have adopted over the years) became indoor cats, and we never again lost one of our cats to the fast trucks.

Kerri and Seven

Kerri and Seven

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Cats and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

