Sausage Pepper Brie Strata

Our local newspaper had an article about make-ahead breakfasts for Christmas morning.  Al immediately was attracted to the french toast and coffee cake, but I was intrigued by this one.  We always have yogurt for breakfast, so I wasn’t really interested in breakfast food, but I thought that with just a little bit of tweaking, this would make a great main meal for dinner.  I added some sausage and, for some kick, the chilies, and this turned out to be absolutely delicious.  All it needs is a salad to make us a complete meal.  Al loves it, and has already asked me to make it again.

Sausage Pepper Brie Strata

Sausage Pepper Brie Strata

1 large loaf sourdough french bread
Cut bread into cubes.  Spray a large baking pan with non-stick cooking spray and layer 3/4 of the bread cubes in the pan.

Veggie Layer:
1 onion, diced
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
6 jalapenos, diced
1 lb pre-cooked spicy sausage, sliced
1 8 oz pkg brie, cut into small cubes
Spray a frying pan with non-stick cooking spray and saute vegetables until they are transparent and start to brown around the edges, don’t over-cook.  Spread veggies evenly over the bread, layer sausage and brie evenly over the veggies.  Add remaining bread cubes evenly over the top.

Egg Mixture:
8 eggs
4 C non-fat milk
3 T dijon mustard
2 t italian seasoning
1/2 t salt
1/2 t fresh ground pepper
Beat together until fluffy and totally mixed.  Pour over bread/veggie layers, cover and refrigerate over night.  Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes covered, and then for 45 minutes uncovered.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sausage Pepper Brie Strata

  1. Looks delicious! And a fun alternative to yogurt!

Leave a Reply

