Baked Pumpkin Custard with Oatmeal and Bananas

I saw this on Gina’s Skinny Recipes and thought that it sounded good.  The first time that I made it, I could have sworn that I had a can of pumpkin in my cupboard, but when I went to get it, it had transmogrified itself into a can of tomato sauce!  So, since I had already started, I went ahead and made it without the pumpkin, and Al thought it was ‘OK’ but was curious to try it with the pumpkin.  So I bought a can of pumpkin, and followed the recipe exactly, but Al just didn’t like it at all, complaining that it had no taste.  So I thought about it, and decided that not only did it need more spices, but for Al to like it, I needed to add a little more sweetness.  I also thought that it needed more of the pumpkin custard, so I changed it around, and this time it was a hit!

Baked Pumpkin Custard with Oatmeal and Bananas

Baked Pumpkin Custard with Oatmeal and Bananas

Banana Layer:
3 bananas, sliced into 1/2″ pieces
Lightly coat a 9″ x 9″ baking pan with non-stick cooking spray.  Arrange banana slices  in the pan and bake, covered, at  375 degrees for 15 minutes.

Oatmeal Layer:
1 C uncooked oatmeal
1/4 C chopped pecans
1/4 C brown sugar
1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1 t cinnamon
1/2 t nutmeg
1/4 t salt
Mix together in a bowl.

Pumpkin Custard:
2 eggs
1 1/2 C buttermilk
1 1/2 C canned pumpkin
1/4 C brown sugar
2 t pumpkin pie spice
1 t vanilla extract
In a 4 C measuring cup, beat eggs with a fork until mixed together and foamy.  Add buttermilk, pumpkin, and vanilla, mixing together thoroughly.  Mix the pumpkin pie spice into the brown sugar, and add to the pumpkin mixture, stir to mix.

Pour the oatmeal mixture evenly over the bananas, then pour the custard mixture evenly over the oatmeal layer.  Bake, uncovered, for 40 – 45 minutes at 375 degrees or until custard is done.  Eat while hot.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

