Philly Cheese Steak Stuffed Bell Peppers – Again

Someone pinned the picture of my Philly Cheesesteak Stuffed Bell Peppers and I’ve been getting views from that just about every day.  So I went and looked at the post and I realized that I probably haven’t made these since I posted about it.  I told Al about this, and he was all – Well, why don’t you make these again, they’re so good.  So I did, and here they are.  The grocery store didn’t have baby portabella mushrooms, so I used the regular ones, and they were great.  I’ve got to make this more often than once a year – lol!

Philly Cheese Steak Stuffed Bell Peppers fresh from the oven.

Philly Cheese Steak Stuffed Bell Peppers fresh from the oven.

4 Green Bell Peppers, stemmed, seeded, and cut in half lengthwise
1 Onion, diced
6 Baby Portabella Mushrooms, chopped
1/2 lb deli Roast Beef, chopped
2 T Worcestershire Sauce
1/2 t Salt
1/4 t Black Pepper
1 C Non-Fat Cottage Cheese
8 oz sharp Cheddar cheese, shredded and divided in half

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Place the peppers in a Pyrex casserole dish, season with salt and pepper and bake for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and drain any water that has expelled from the peppers and set aside. Sauté onions and mushrooms till golden. Add roast beef, Worcestershire, salt, and pepper. Mix till combined.  Turn off heat and add cottage cheese and 1/2 the cheddar to veggie & meat mixture.

Spoon mixture into partially cooked pepper halves. Top with remaining shredded cheese. Bake at 400 for 20-25 minutes or until golden.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

