Monarch Butterfly Wings on my Fingernails

I have been seeing the butterfly wing nail art on the internet, and I think that it is very clever and beautiful.  I really wanted to do this on my own fingernails, but I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to do the stripes.  Then when I saw the Stripe Right polishes at Sally Beauty, I knew that I had to try this.  And it actually was easy!  I got lots of complements and it lasted for 5 days with just a little bit of tip wear.  I’m doing this one again – I think that I’ll try it in purple.

For this I used OPI Red Lights Ahead…Where?  and China Glaze Orange Knockout for the base.  I added a bit of glitter – China Glaze Electrify to add a little extra bling and then I used my It’s So Easy Stripe Right in black for the wing pattern, and Orly White Tips and my dotting tool for the dots.

Base – OPI Red Lights Ahead…Where? China Glaze Orange Knockout
Glitter – China Glaze Electrify
Pattern – It’s So Easy Stripe Right in black, and Orly White Tips

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Monarch Butterfly Wings on my Fingernails

  1. Those turned out really nice! I usually would think of butterfly nail art in which someone would try to put a picture of a butterfly on the nail rather than doing the wing on the full nail so this is really cool. It’s a bit awkward because I was terrified of monarch butterflies when I was a little kid, but I think these are lovely. Too bad they’re and endangered species though…

  2. Thanks so much, I’m glad you like them. These are pretty endangered, too – they’re comming off!

Leave a Reply

