Lower Fat Cinnamon Oatmeal Pancakes

Over the years I have tried out many recipes and substitutions to reduce the amount of fat in the meals that I make.  Al LOVES pancakes, and traditionally there is a very large amount of fat in them, so I have experimented with many different ways to reduce the amount of fat.  Recently I have been seeing a lot of different oatmeal pancake recipes around the internet, and they sounded really good.  And since I want to have lower fat in the ones that I make, I tried adding oatmeal to my low-fat pancake recipe and these are some of the best low-fat pancakes that I have made.  Al liked them so much that he asked for them again the next day.  This recipe made 19 pancakes.

Cinnamon Oatmeal Pancakes

1  C Old Fashioned Oatmeal
1/2 C very hot water
1 C flour
1 T sugar
1 t baking powder
1/2 t soda
1/2 t salt
1 t cinnamon
1 egg
1 1/4 C buttermilk (approx.)

Measure oatmeal into a shallow bowl and cover with very hot water, stirring a couple of times to prevent clumping.  Meanwhile, place remaining dry ingredients in a large bowl and mix together thoroughly.  Break egg into a 2 C measuring cup and beat with a fork until egg is mixed together and light yellow and foamy.  Add buttermilk to the cup to measure 1 3/4 C total, mixing in the egg.  Add buttermilk mixture and oatmeal mixture to the flour mixture in the bowl and blend together, being careful not to over beat.  Cook your favorite way and enjoy!

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

