Mango and Jicama Salad

I saw this recipe on Hungry Girl several years ago, and it has been a favorite ever since.  Of course, over the years, I have adjusted it to suit my taste, and I have lost the original so I don’t remember how much I have changed it.  This tastes fabulous, and Al and I eat it like little pigs, so I have gradually adjusted the recipe to make a large amount.  And it does take a good amount of chopping, so if I’m going to be doing a lot of chopping, I like to make it worthwhile.

This time the grocery store had Huge mangos, and they had very small (for a mango) seeds, so this salad has a lot of mango in it, which is great, I Love mangos.  Also, broccoli slaw is sometimes hard to find.  It is the best (imho) but you can use “rainbow slaw” which also has cauliflower in it, or in a pinch, plain cole slaw.

Three Huge Mangos, ripe and ready to eat!

Mango Jicama Salad

Salad:
1 15 oz can black beans, drained
1 12 oz bag broccoli slaw
3 large mangos, peeled and chopped
1 large jicama, peeled and cut into matchsticks

Dressing:
1 8 oz carton non-fat plain greek yogurt
2 T seasoned rice vinegar
1 T Dijon mustard
1 20 oz can crushed pineapple, drained
1/2 T sugar
1/4 t coconut extract
1 t chili powder, to taste
1/2 t salt, to taste
1/2 t black pepper, to taste

In a very large bowl (this makes a HUGE amount – I use my pasta pot) combine black beans, broccoli slaw, mango, and jicama.  Mix well.

In another bowl, combine dressing ingredients and stir until blended.  Pour mixture over the salad ingredients, and stir to coat.  Refrigerate for an hour to blend flavors and mix well before serving.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

