Another New Melon – Sharlin

When we went back to the fruit stand this week, I wanted to get another Orange Flesh Cantaline Melon since it was so good, but they didn’t have any.  But they did have another new kind of melon – a Sharlin!

Sharlin Melon

This one is really pretty!  It looks a lot more like a cantaloupe than the Cantaline melon, even though both of them are hybrids of cantaloupe and honeydew.  But when I cut this one open, I got a big surprise – actually two big surprises!  First off, the seeds aren’t attached!  They just poured out – and made a mess, lol.  And second, this melon is a pale, creamy white color.  It has a very mild taste, and it might be just a tiny bit sweeter than a cantaloupe.  I liked this one, too, and I wonder what kind of new melon the fruit stand will have when I go back next week?

The seeds of the Sharlin melon aren’t attached, and the flesh is a pale, creamy, almost white color.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another New Melon – Sharlin

  1. Al Dubuc says:

    California’s Central Valley has an exquisite choice of fresh fruits and veggies–especially in the summertime! Melons are sweet, tomatoes, cherries, strawberries, asparagus, blueberries, raspberries…nectarines! Love it!

Leave a Reply

