Trying something new – Orange Flesh/Cantaline Melon

Before this summer my favorite fruit stand has always only had the Big Three of melons – Cantaloupe, Honeydew, and Watermelon.  But this year they have a bunch of new and different kinds.  When we were there this week, I bought an Orange Flesh/Cantaline melon.  I had never heard of it, and when I googled it I discovered that you can find out what any fresh produce is from the sticker on it.  This melon had PLU number 4327 on it.  PLU stands for Price Look Up, and if you google PLU codes you can find out what kind of produce it is from the number.

Orange Flesh/Cantaline Melon

This is a cross between a cantaloupe and a honeydew originally from South America.  It looks like a cantaloupe when you cut it open, and it tastes like one, too, just a little sweeter and milder.  It’s also larger than a cantaloupe, and smaller than a honeydew.  I really liked this new melon, and I’m glad that my fruit stand is getting new and different produce.  And, best of all, this one looks like it’s grown just a few miles away.

Looks just like a cantaloupe

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

