Low-Fat Strawberry Short Cake

I love summer, I love the fresh fruits and veggies that you can buy from the local fruit stands, and I especially love Strawberry Short Cake!  I like this recipe a lot, it has all the taste and almost none of the fat of regular strawberry short-cake.  And I like it that the topping gives it an almost cheese-cake-like flavor.

Low-Fat Strawberry Short Cake with Creamy Cheesy Topping

Cake:
1 1/2 c flour
1/2 c white whole wheat flour
1 c sugar
3 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1 t salt
1 egg
1 1/2 to 1 3/4 c buttermilk (see below)
1 t vanilla

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Blend together dry ingredients in a large bowl.  Break egg into a 2 c measuring cup and beat with a fork until lemony yellow, and blended.  Add buttermilk to measure 1 7/8 c total, add vanilla, and stir to mix.  Add buttermilk mixture to dry ingredients and stir thoroughly to mix, about 2 minutes.  Scrape dough into an 8 inch square cake pan that has been coated with non-stick cooking spray.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 40 to 45 minutes, or until done.  Cool.

Topping:
1 (16 oz) carton non-fat cottage cheese
4 T sugar
1 t vanilla
non-fat milk

Blend cottage cheese, sugar, and vanilla in a blender until smooth and fluffy.   Add non-fat milk one tablespoon at a time until desired consistency.  I find that each carton of cottage cheese needs a different amount of milk – you don’t need much.

 

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Low-Fat Strawberry Short Cake

  1. instillari says:

    Sounds and looks good!

Leave a Reply

