Asparagus and Chicken Pasta Salad

I love asparagus season, I buy a couple of bunches every time I go grocery shopping, and then I try to figure out what I want to make with it.  I really like my recipe for Rotini with Asparagus and Chicken, but in the summer, I feel more like eating a salad, instead of hot pasta.  So I thought that I would try a make-over on this recipe, and try it as a salad.  I didn’t have much time, so I used the small shells and the one chicken breast and one chicken thigh from the freezer.  Al and I ran to the local fruit stand, and I picked up a couple of smallish cucumbers and some limes, 3 for a dollar.  They didn’t have lemons, and they didn’t have any bell peppers, which I wanted to use.  Oh well, next time.  Al picked up a box of blueberries to sprinkle over the top of his serving, I haven’t tried that yet.  I just barely cooked the asparagus, since I just didn’t think cooked veggies belonged in a salad – it turned out to be perfect!

Asparagus and Chicken Pasta Salad

16 oz small shells
1 lb chicken, cooked and diced
1 medium onion, chopped
2 medium cucumbers, chopped
2 bunches asparagus, cut into small pieces
3 limes, juiced
1 6 oz carton plain non-fat greek yogurt
1 t italian seasoning
salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta according to package directions, drain.  Bring a large pot of water to a boil, and cook the asparagus for 3 minutes, drain, and run cold water over to stop cooking.  Mix together pasta, onion, cucumber, and chicken in a large mixing bowl.  Stir together yogurt, lime juice, italian seasoning, salt, and pepper to make dressing.  Add to pasta mixture and mix well.  Gently stir in asparagus.  Cool in refrigerator.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

