Spinach Tortellini Soup

Even though it’s almost the middle of June, we have been having cold, rainy, and windy weather the past couple of weeks.  And cold rainy weather makes me think of soup.  After I looked at this bowl I thought that this soup is almost a spring soup with the fresh spinach in it.  And now the weather is starting to warm up, it was 75 degrees  outside when we ran this morning.  Whatever, this soup is delicious any time.  Al likes to put some shaved parmesan cheese on the top of his, but it’s good either way.

Spinach Tortellini Soup

2 stalks celery, chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 carrots, cut in matchsticks
2 cloves garlic, chopped
8 c chicken broth
3 c water
salt to taste
1/2 t pepper
1/2 t ground nutmeg
1 pkg spinach & cheese tortellini
1 pkg baby spinach
shaved parmesan cheese, optional

Cook celery, onion, carrot, and garlic in a large pot that has been coated with non-stick spray until tender crisp.  Add chicken broth, water, and spices, and bring to a boil.  Add tortellini, reduce heat to medium and cook according to package directions.  Turn off heat and add spinach, stir to combine.  Serve with shaved parmesan, if desired.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinach Tortellini Soup

  1. David says:

    Looks delicious! I’d probably bump mine up with more veggies but that’s the fun thing about soups – they’re easily modifiable! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

