Chicken Marbella

I’ve had this recipe for at least 20 years.  I have made a bunch of revisions over the years as our tastes changed – I can’t even remember the original recipe.  The last few times that I have made it, I haven’t made any changes at all!  This is unusual, since I almost always feel like I need to tweak my recipes each time that I make anything.  Al says that this is his favorite meal of all time – and I have to agree, it sure is delicious!

Chicken Marbella

8 – 10 skinless and boneless chicken thighs
4 cloves garlic, chopped
2 T fresh cilantro
1 t oregano
3 bay leaves
1/2 C brown sugar
1/3 C red wine vinegar
3/4 C white wine
1 (14 1/2 oz) can chicken broth
1/3 C apricot jam
1 (2 1/4 oz) can sliced black olives
1/4 C capers, with a little juice
1/2 C pitted prunes, coarsely chopped
1/2 C dried apricots, coarsely chopped

Mix all ingredients, except chicken, together in a large bowl, stirring well to dissolve brown sugar and jam.  Place chicken in a 9″ x 13″ baking pan and evenly pour mixture over.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 1/2 hours.  Serve with rice.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Marbella

  1. Aldubuc says:

    So awesome, can we have it again NEXT week? 🙂

Leave a Reply

