McKitty Loves his Unka Sherb

McKitty is our youngest cat, the last stray that we have taken in (so far…..)  We discovered him in the engine of the Miata one day five or six years ago.  I was in the garage early in the morning getting ready to go to work and I heard a cat meowing really loud – so I looked all over, even under the Miata, and I couldn’t see a cat anyplace.  Al was still asleep, so I opened the garage door, got in my car, pulled out of the garage, closed the door, and drove to work, hoping that the cat was OK, and didn’t get shut in the door.  When I got to work, I called Al and told him to find the cat in the garage.

He went out to the garage, and even though the cat was still meowing really loud, he also couldn’t find it anyplace.  So he got in the Miata and pulled it out of the garage.  That was when he discovered that the cat was in the engine of the car!  So – he pulled the car back into the garage, and opened the hood.  The cat was still in there, alive, and loud.  He couldn’t get the cat to come out, so the poor thing had to sit in the engine of the car all day long until I got home from work.  I was able to reach my smaller arm into the engine and pull him out.  He was scared and hungry, and my arm was covered with grease!

I washed my arm, and we fed the cat and introduced him to our other cats.  He was scared and shy and went to sit in a corner and the other cats were shy, too, but Sherbert just walked right up to him and give him a sniff.

Sherbert meets McKitty while Kerri watches

McKitty bonded to Sherbert after this, and now he rarely leaves his side.  When he was little, Sherbert let him play with him, and he was so gentle with McKitty.  Now Sherbert is old, and McKitty is Huge – he weighs 16 pounds!  But he still loves Sherbert, and always gets just as close to him as he can.

Sherbert and McKitty Cuddling

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Cats and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

