Sweet Potato and Black Bean Soup

I have seen a bunch of different recipes for this soup on the internet, and each one had things that I liked, and some things about it that I didn’t like.  So I took the things that I liked from each one and cobbled together this recipe.  I also wanted to try to cook black beans without soaking, and this seemed like a good time to try it.  Some of the recipes called for putting the cooked soup in the blender, but I like my soup chunky, and blending hot soup and cleaning up the blender afterwards is just too much work for me.

Both Al and I think that this soup turned out Great!  The flavors are fantastic, I have never eaten anything that tasted like this before.  And it tastes even better the next day.  The flavor from the fennel is more pronounced and it gives this soup a delicious but unusual flavor.

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Soup

1 lb dry black beans
1 49 1/2 oz can chicken broth
1 t garlic salt
1 large onion, diced
3 – 4 cloves garlic, crushed
1 t ground coriander
1 t ground cumin
1/2 t fennel
1/2 t black pepper
5 small to medium sweet potatoes, diced
salt to taste
2 T lime juice

Sort and rinse beans, put in large pot with chicken broth, garlic salt, and 2 C water.  Bring to a boil, stir, and reduce heat to simmer.  Cook about 1 hour or until beans are soft.

Saute diced onion and garlic in a large frying pan coated with non-stick cooking spray until onions are soft and are starting to brown.  Add coriander, cumin, fennel and black pepper and saute 1-2 minutes more, until spices become fragrant.

When the beans are cooked, add the onion/spice mixture along with the diced sweet potatoes, salt to taste, and 2 C water.  Bring back to a boil, turn down the heat, and  simmer for another hour until the sweet potatoes are tender.  Turn off heat and add lime juice.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

