Cooking Black Beans Without Soaking First

After my successful experiment with cooking small white beans without soaking them first, I wanted to try it again with another type of bean.  I have a recipe for black bean and sweet potato soup and I thought this would be a good time to try this cooking method on black beans.  I sorted through the beans as I always do, but this time I actually found a rock!  It seems like I can sort through a dozen bags of beans without finding even one, so I’m glad that I took the time on these.  Al says keep doing it, he doesn’t want to crunch down on a rock when he’s eating soup, can’t blame him!

The rock - top, a shriveled up bean - right, and a good normal bean - bottom.

The recipe on the bag said to cook them in 8 cups of water.  So, since I would be using these for soup, I used a 49 1/2 oz can of chicken broth and 2 cups of water.  I added a teaspoon of garlic salt, brought them to a boil, gave them a stir, and turned down the heat to simmer – they smelled delicious!  The bag said that the beans would take one to two hours to cook so I started testing these after about 45 minutes, and they were almost done already!  I ended up cooking them for about an hour, and they were perfect.  I’m never going to soak beans before I cook them again.

All cooked and ready to eat in under one hour.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

