Fluffy Pizza

This is so easy to make, I just love it for busy days.  And it’s so easy to load up with veggies – they always seem to taste better on a pizza.  After I made it this time, Al said that I should have put mushrooms and olives on it, I will try to remember that for next time.  If you don’t have a cast iron skillet, any baking dish of similar size will work.

Fluffy Pizza

Sauce:
1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes, I try to use the one with Italian herbs
1 onion, diced
2 – 4 cloves garlic, minced, to taste
1 T oregano
1 t basil
1/2 t thyme
1/4 t crushed red chilies, to taste

In a large pot coated with non-stick cooking spray, cook onion and garlic until onion is soft and just starting to brown.  Add remaining ingredients, mix together, and cook for about an hour on simmer.   This makes enough for 4 pizzas, I freeze the left overs.

Pizza:
1 can refrigerated biscuit dough (10 biscuits)
1/4 of the sauce
2 – 3 C baby spinach
1 medium to large yellow summer squash, cut into small pieces
1/2 bell pepper, diced
1/4 onion, chopped
8 oz fully cooked chicken sausage, cut into slices
4 oz grated mozzarella cheese

Coat the cast iron skillet with non-stick cooking spray.  Cut each biscuit into fourths and place evenly in the skillet – don’t worry, they will puff up and cover the bottom entirely.  Spread the sauce over the biscuits, then layer on the remaining ingredients, in order, ending with the cheese.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 35 minutes.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

