Rotini with Chicken Italian Sausage, Broccoli, and Sweet Potato

I really love pasta, and I like to make it with lots of veggies in it, especially the ones that I think will taste good together, and look pretty – lol.  That didn’t work out too well this time because the sweet potato that I got from the store was yellow inside!  It looked just like the sweet potatoes that are orange inside, but it was yellow, I don’t know how that happened.  But it tasted good, even if the picture doesn’t have pretty orange sweet potatoes in it.

Rotini with Chicken Italian Sausage, Broccoli, and Sweet Potato

2 bunches broccoli
1 medium sweet potato
1 lb lean chicken italian sausage, sliced
5-6 cloves garlic, chopped
16 oz rotini
1 15 oz can chicken broth
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (optional)

Cut broccoli into flowerets, and the stems into 1 inch pieces.  Coat a large cookie pan with non-stick spray, and spread the broccoli evenly on it.   Roast in a 425 degree oven for 20 minutes.  Peel and cut sweet potato into matchsticks.  Saute in a large frying pan or wok that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray for about 5 minutes or until cooked but not mushy.  Bring a large pot of water to a boil, and cook rotini according to package directions, drain.

In the pasta pot, brown sausage and garlic on medium heat.  Add chicken broth, parmesan cheese and red pepper flakes if using, mix well.  Season with salt and pepper and add the broccoli, sweet potato, and rotini to the pot   Adjust salt and pepper to taste and toss so that everything is mixed well and the pasta is coated with the sauce.  Serve with additional grated cheese if desired.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

