Easy Eggplant Lasagna

I really like lasagna, but I really hate boiling the noodles.  It makes such a mess, it uses a huge pot that I then have to wash, and it’s just that little bit of extra work that keeps me from making it more often.  I found a recipe where you didn’t have to boil the noodles, just put them in uncooked, and they were supposed to soften and cook in the oven – except that it didn’t really work, and it also really didn’t taste that great.  So I thought that I could come up with a recipe that used uncooked noodles, and tasted good, and actually worked.  It took me two tries, but I think that I finally figured it out.

This recipe is low-fat, and also vegetarian.  When I was making this, Al wanted me to put ground meat in the sauce, but after eating it without meat, he has forgotten about it – lol.  I did put a surprise layer of spinach in, I had half a bag in the fridge that was in danger of getting too old.

Eggplant Lasagna with a surprise layer of Spinach

Sauce:
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
1 28 oz can chopped tomatoes (with Italian seasoning, if you can find it)
1 28 oz can tomato sauce
1 T oregano
1 t basil
1/2 t thyme
1/2 t crushed red chilies (optional)

Cook onion and garlic in a large sauce pan coated with non-stick spray until onion is transparent.  Add the remaining ingredients, and cook about an hour until flavors are blended.

Lasagna:
2 medium eggplants
1 lb lasagna noodles
1 16 oz carton non-fat cottage cheese
1 8 oz bag low-fat shredded mozzarella
1/2 C parmesan cheese

Peel eggplants and slice very thin.  Layer sauce, noodles, cheeses, and eggplant in lasagna pan, ending with a layer of noodles, saving about 2/3 C of sauce and some mozzarella.  Push down gently, and add sauce and cheese.  Cover with foil and put in fridge over night or at least several hours.  Al was hungry and couldn’t wait, so mine was in the fridge only about 1 1/2 hours, and it was barely enough.  Cook with foil on for 1 hour in a 350 degree oven, then remove foil, sprinkle parmesan cheese on top, and bake for 30 minutes longer.  Let rest 5 minutes before serving.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

