Cooking Beans Without Soaking First

I read in my local newspaper that you could cook dry beans without soaking them first.  All my life, I have been taught that dried beans HAD to be soaked overnight first, or they wouldn’t cook, and I believed it.  So, every time that I wanted to cook some beans, I had to plan ahead, and start them soaking the night before.  But this article in the paper said that all you had to do was just cook them a little longer, and they would not only cook just fine, but they would taste better.  Well, I’m all for better taste, and, of course, easier cooking.

So I decided to try this out, and I thought that I would make Turkey Pumpkin Chili.  These cold days, chili is perfect and this makes enough for plenty of leftovers.  It uses Small White Beans that usually cook in a couple of hours, so I thought that it would be a perfect test.  I rinsed the beans, and covered them with 5 or 6 inches of water, the same amount that I use when I soak them.  I also added some garlic salt, since this chili really needed more salt the last time I made it.

Then I just brought them to a boil, gave them a stir, turned down the heat to simmer, and waited to see what would happen.  I started testing them after about an hour or so, and was surprised that by then they were already almost cooked!  I ended up cooking them about 2 hours – the same time as soaked beans!!  I couldn’t tell if they tasted better, but they did taste good, and adding the salt made a huge difference in taste.

Turkey Pumpkin Chili with Small White Beans

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

