African Chicken

I have had this recipe for 20 years or more, and it has gone through many adjustments in that time.  I really like this last one, it is the healthiest yet and it still tastes great.  I’ve been substituting peanut powder for peanut butter in my recipes, and it works really well – the peanut butter taste is perfect and there are none of the fat calories.  I also like this one because it doesn’t require much chopping – LOL – sometimes I’m up to here with chopping.

I used skinned, bone-in chicken thighs this time because Al really likes the thighs.  Other times I will use skinned and boned chicken breasts.  I also mix about 20% brown rice in with the white rice for a little extra fiber.

African Chicken with Peanut Powder

Ingredients:
10 chicken pieces, skinned
2 onions, chopped
5 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 C peanut powder (I use PB2)
2 t ground coriander
1/2 t red pepper flakes
1 (28 oz) can chopped tomatoes
1 (14.5 oz) can chicken broth
1 t salt
2 T red wine vinegar

Directions:
Cook onions and garlic in a large skillet or wok until onions are clear.  Add remaining ingredients except chicken, stir to dissolve peanut powder and mix well.  Place chicken, meat side up in a large baking pan and pour tomato mixture evenly over the chicken.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 1 1/2 hours.  Serve with rice.

About sunflowerswank

After working all of my life, I retired in June, 2011. I try to use my extra time to rest, exercise, paint my fingernails, play with my 9 cats, spend time with my husband, Al, and cook healthy and lower fat recipies for us to eat. I try to use as many fruits and vegetables in my menus as I can cram in, sometimes to the complaints of the hubs - LOL! I am also making over some of my old favorites to be heathier with more vegetables in them, and less fat.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to African Chicken

  1. gracefullygf says:

    This looks fantastic! I’ve never heard of peanut powder- I’ll have to check it out! Thanks!

    • Thanks, you can also find peanut powder at Trader Joe’s sometimes. If they have it, it’s in the flour section, and may be called peanut flour. But it’s not really flour, just powdered peanuts.

Leave a Reply

